Virtual Communion?

virtual chruch pic2I was reading an article by RNS the other day when I saw something that surprised me: Virtual Communion. My first reaction was that it sounded like a Church themed video game. After checking it out I quickly discovered it was something a very different. The article was mostly about the United Methodists, which seem to be leading the way with the practice. Still, after looking around I saw that other Christian groups are doing online communion as well. I started searching the internet because I was asked to give an opinion on it for an article in the Alabama Baptist newspaper. While I did send them some of my thoughts (I’ll link the article here later whether they quote me or not), with so many Churches dabbling with the idea of virtual communion, I wanted to explore the practice a little more.

What it Takes

Before getting into this there are two things to consider.

A)    Virtual Communion is when someone watches a communion service online and follows along with the minister. That is, while at home and using their own supplies, they perform their own communion service in front of their computer.

B)     It’s generally considered necessary to have four things for a communion service:

  1. Bread;
  2. Wine;
  3. A Christian community; and
  4. Someone to perform the ritual.

For Catholics who understand the ordination of priests as bestowing spiritual powers, like the ability to consecrate the Eucharist, this doesn’t work. Even though they participate in what the priest does, the laity cannot “do” Eucharist on their own. But it’s not so for Christians with a different theology of ministry. For them the laity performing a communion service isn’t necessarily ruled out. So the question of members performing their own Eucharistic service at home while watching their community online is something that could in fact be considered.

Internet and Community

I think the question of virtual communion, as it’s called, really hangs on whether online communication creates “real” community. The internet, unlike older forms of media, enables two way visual communication. It is very unlike other technologies. Sometimes people will claim, that relationships formed over the internet aren’t real relationships. On this I disagree. Those relationships are certainly real, but they are also certainly different. So obviously any community based on it is also different.

The communal aspect of worship is so important for Catholics, that while only priests can validly celebrate the Eucharist at Mass, they are not (normally) allowed to do so without at least one, ideally more, persons present. Without the participation of the laity, the priest can’t form a community. That is the community in which the Holy Spirit operates and by whose power he is even able to perform the ritual. At this point, I know someone will object. But it’ll take too long to explain and too off subject for this post.

When You’re Not There

Efforts to include absent members in the gathered communion service, is not new. A practice as old as the Church involves Eucharistic Ministers who take the communion to the Church’s members too sick or frail to attend. This is a practice that continues ‘til today in many different denominations. Here the link to the community is maintained, but it is also only provided for to those unable to be present. As holy and proper of a practice this is, it is still a reduced expression of the worshiping community.

My reflection on the issue of virtual communion turns on two questions. Does virtual communication create an adequate form of community? But if the answer is yes, the more important question is whether it’s a good idea. Unlike bringing the Eucharist to the sick, virtual communion would presumably become, just another option for attending Sunday services.  Will this decreased level of commitment required benefit us as Christians? How will the arguably reduced form of community change Church life? These are serious questions, but not any I’m likely to have answer as a Catholic. I do have my own opinions but I look with interest to see what Methodists, Baptists, and many others will decide about virtual communion.

May our Lord bless and guide us all, as we seek to make the Kingdom of God present to our world today.

What do you think about Virtual Communion?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Virtual Communion?

  1. Neil Pezzulo says:

    I believe that on-line offers a community, possibly a communion, however, it is not a substitute for real face to face communion among other members of the Body of Christ.

  2. I used to be suggested this web site by way off my cousin. I am not positive whether this put up
    is written by way of hiim as no one else underatand such designated approximately my trouble.
    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  3. Thiss paragraph gives clear idea designed for the new
    visitors of blogging, that actually how to do running a blog.

  4. iPikalaina says:

    Good web site you have here.. It’s difficult to find high-quality writing
    like youirs these days. I truly appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

  5. Fantastic post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a liittle bit further.
    Thanks!

  6. I’m not sjre wwhy but thiis web site is loading very slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problrm on my end?
    I’ll check back latr oon and see if the problem still exists.

  7. Hi, of course this article is really nice annd I have learned lot of things from it about blogging.
    thanks.

  8. We are a group of volunteers annd starting a new scheme
    in our community. Your site provided us with valuable infornation to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole
    community will be thankful to you.

  9. I’m not sure where you are getting ykur information, but
    good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or unnderstanding
    more. Thanks for magnificent info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  10. Hi, constantly i used to check webpage posts here early in the
    morning, because i like to learn more aand more.

  11. I know this site gives quality depending content and extra information, is there any other site which presents these kinds of
    things in quality?

  12. Just desire to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your post is just great and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject.

    Well with your permission allow me to grab youur RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million aand please continue the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

